ANDREW

Posted on Updated on

image

First from my mother
That very day when I woke up with so much vigour
Took my bath, and ran off to prepare for school
Mother had already prepared my meal
So I took to the dining to eat
Father, who was supposed to take me to school
Left very early for an important meeting
Mother took me to school after the meal
I was happy that day, I didn’t know why
As she dropped me by the school gate
I kissed her and walked into the school
Reaching the gate I turned back to wave goodbye
Suddenly!! Just like a flash
This eighteen wheeler ran into mother’s car
Crushed it, and I shouted “Mother”
Wishing she was not in the car
Unfortunately, she was, and she died instantly
It was September 23rd, I lost her that day

New mother came August 5th
Eleven months later
But she never acted like a mother
When she came my peace left
Sleep late, wake early,
Perform chores over and over again
Despised whenever I read, but I read anyway
Run errands late at night
She put me through much more than all these
I told dad, but she always found a way to justify herself
Dad never took me seriously
Celeste was my solace, my friend
The daughter of our neighbour
The sister I never had

New wife soon had her children
I would have called them brother and sister
But they never acted so
Their mother had taught them
To hate me, oh what a mother!
If my mother was around, things would have been better

Soon father was away to never land
Caught by a stray bullet, during an armed robbery
It was July 30th
Now it’s me and the tripartite beings
Who daily maltreat me
They envy my little success in school
Still I’m not bothered
Mother’s love abides forever
Always an inch ahead
Maybe it’s my good deeds that put me in the lead
Thanks to Celeste, who has always been there for me
She was indeed a sister

In all I’m glad for the few good people I know
Still optimistic they would change,
I mean the tripartite beings,
To the good tripartite beings in the heavenlies
Thank you for Andrew.

Written by:
Victor Okolo
@vikykem

One thought on “ANDREW

    toocr8ive said:
    August 4, 2014 at 11:05 am

    Wow….I’d love to meet this pen-smith

Leave a Reply

