My Father, Books, and Reading

Posted on

As I write today, I remember my father, John O. Nwosu (late), and the profound impact he made on every aspect of my life. He taught me to be peaceful, caring, helpful, accomodating, he taught me to laugh, forgive, and to READ!!! I learnt ALL these by just WATCHing him act them out to everyone I saw him come in contact with. His actions and LIFEstyle had trained me on how to live honourably, such that when he spoke about these things to me, it’s like revision of what I see him DO.

He leaves for work in the morning, but always comes back home with two important things in his portfolio- his newspaper, and our snack. This happens five days a week. The weekends were not left out because I usually look out for newspaper vendors and the sound of their “hand-horn” to get our newspaper. Yes, our newspaper. I see him read everyday, so I had to want to read. Though, I started with the cartoon section (usually at the last pages), I read the newspaper virtually everyday. I then moved on to the sports section, solved puzzles, followed by the section with health tips, and all other parts of this information source. This buried an important lesson in me, and it is that, “You read to KNOW, not to pass any test. This lesson has impacted my life and academics since then. Father gave me the first foreign novel I read, it was “The Merchant of Vernice” and I loved it.

I spend my evenings with him, in front of the television, watching, and listening to news, and soap operas before I go to bed. He always calls me “Iyke One”, and this makes me feel even above “on top of the world”. Did I mention that I was the last child? Oh sorry I didn’t, I was indeed the last child, and I love this position! We’ll gist about our day, and other stuff I don’t want you to know about (lol).

I’m grown now, but I still wish we’ll have those moments again. I miss him.

If I continue to write now, I may never finish any time soon, but this was the foundation of my inquisitive attitude- a constant thirst for knowledge. I want to say to all parents and guardians, that they read a book to their children, even to toddlers who may not understand, at least, they will know that reading is part of life. As they grow, GIVE them books to read and review, and teach them to read to gain knowledge.

image

Books, whether electronic or hard copies helps us to:
Acquire, and formulate principles that will help us succeed in our endeavours
Sharpen our thoughts- You begin to think in the direction you may never have come across, you gain new knowledge.
Relate well with ourselves- You develop better habits.

I know, some books exists that achieve the exact opposite of what is above, but if as a parent/guardian, you expose your children/wards to what is right, they will not depart from it.

Thank you for reading. Feel free to drop a comment and share this with your friends.

Ikechukwu Nwosu
(@IkeNwosuIsaac)

5 thoughts on “My Father, Books, and Reading

    Stanley said:
    June 27, 2014 at 12:37 pm

    Nice one kid bro. So proud of you. Indeed father taught us how to read and it has help each and every one of us. You stand out as a writer.
    God bless you

      Ikechukwu Nwosu responded:
      June 27, 2014 at 12:39 pm

      Thank you sir!!! God bless you and your family too!!

      Ikechukwu Nwosu responded:
      June 27, 2014 at 2:53 pm

      Thank you sir! God bless you and your family too

    Tosan said:
    June 29, 2014 at 7:36 pm

    lasty like me!

Leave a Reply

