My fight with Martins: Do not just ACT, ACHIEVE!!!

Posted on Updated on

I was prompted to write this piece when I remembered, as a boy, how I got into a fight with another boy in my school. As a matter of fact, my classmate. From all indications, I should be able to knock this guy out with my chubby fists because I was considerable bigger than him. Right now, I cannot remember what caused the fight, but I vividly remember what happened during the fight. As I write, the video recorder in my brain still has, and is playing the events of that day to me.

When we started fighting, this young, short boy was throwing punches to me: all over my face my body, and this big Ikechukwu was just there, in front of him, receiving punches, and stopping the ones I could. I never threw a punch!! This boy beat me so well that throughout that day, I was the laughing stock of the people around.

How come this big me, the one who could have easily won that fight, loose without even getting a punch on my opponent’s face? I have the answer for that now. I never knew that winning a fight (in school) has everything to do with getting your punches to the opponent at the right place, and at the right time, sufficient to leave him/her in more pain than you; and making sure you receive no or little punches from your opponent. How I wish I knew this then, I would not have fought that fight, or if I did, I would have focused all my strength in throwing ACCURATE punches and hindering his punches from getting to me. Bottom line is, I was just MOVING about in that battle, with my hands covering my face and chest, receiving blows on my stomach, hands, and some on my “covered” face and chest. I was ACTING but never ACHIEVING.

It is not enough to do something, you have to have an OBJECTIVE for that action, and channel your energy to transforming that objective to achievement. “Effort does not necessarily mean you are effective” says T.D Jakes. When you work, work with an objective in mind, and when that objective is transformed to achievement, SET ANOTHER (HIGHER) OBJECTIVE!!! Don’t just do business because you want money, do it because, you want a SPECIFIC AMOUNT of money by the end of 3months or 6months or 12months, and then raise the bar when this is achieved. Don’t save for the “rainy day” only, save because you want to procure an asset!! Don’t go to school because it is part of socialization alone, go to school (formal or non-formal) because you want to learn (and be trained). Get an objective, achieve it!!!

Thanks for visiting, feel free to comment and share your view.

You can follow me on twitter HERE

6 thoughts on “My fight with Martins: Do not just ACT, ACHIEVE!!!

    Muyi5 said:
    April 22, 2014 at 11:50 am

    na Adindu martins u fight ni

    Muyi5 said:
    April 22, 2014 at 12:00 pm

    nice write-up…tanx

    mayorreal said:
    April 24, 2014 at 5:54 pm

    God bless yoou dear

      Ikechukwu Nwosu responded:
      April 24, 2014 at 6:02 pm

      And you too!! Thanks for visiting. It keeps getting better..

Leave a Reply

