PLAY IT BACK!!!

Posted on

Hello friends!!!

Just yesterday, I was surfing the internet when I came across this quote from Nigeria’s foremost motivational speaker, I mean, Fela Durotoye. The quote says, “Do not let the ball be in your court, play it back.”

After I read those words, I smiled a “wow-ish” (forgive the English) smile, then I stopped smiling, after sometime, I started smiling again, and I’ll stop, and smile yet again, stop, smile, stop, smile (when I could have just, maybe laughed it out, or shouted it out to the people around me.lol).

Then I took the device I was browsing the internet with, and placed it a little bit far away from my face. I thought, “this will make me get a better and bigger view of the quote” (as if I did not see it the first time). I dropped the device, and I started to meditate on those words.

I remembered the time I was a student in the university and we had to do a course on volleyball, I remembered all the skills, various positions of players, game umpire, and the fun the game is filled with. I remembered that the only goal of the game (even with all the skills) was to take the ball out of your court, without allowing it touch the floor of your court, over the net into your opponent’s court. When you do this more than your opponent within the given period, you win!!!

These words “the ball is in your court” is used to mean, “it’s now your responsiblity” to decided whether you succeed or not!! When you volley the ball to the opponent’s court in a volleyball game, you have increased your chance of winning, but if your opponent plays it back, you forget about your previous volley, and focus on GETTING THE BALL OUT OF YOUR COURT again into your opponent’s court.

Never allow your lack of performing your responsibility to be the reason why you failed. Even after you performed it, and the need to perform another responsiblity arises again (just like in volleyball), you perform your responsibility again, by playing it back. Execute all your plans and intentions, “leave no stone unturned”, do your best, and wait for the results, not waiting for the results without doing anything, because what you will find is “no results found” due to the fact that no input was made!!!

In volleyball, even when you play the ball out of your court, and it lands outside the opponent’s court, you loose, hence, let your actions be directional. Never confuse motion with progress. Another lesson is that, even when you loose, you still stand on your guard, to correct your previous mistakes by learning from them, and not repeating the process that led to that loss/failure- you play the ball back, but this time, more experienced and directional.

Volleyball is a nice game, I love it. Do you?

Follow on twitter @IkeNwosuIsaac
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/ikechukwu.nwosu3
Email: ikechukwunwosuisaac@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “PLAY IT BACK!!!

    mayrahm said:
    March 15, 2014 at 4:28 pm

    Nyce one

Leave a Reply

